I Need S’More Smore in My Life

The Smore is not just for summer bonfires, but all year long!  After reading The 5-Minute Teacher by Mark Barnes (check out my review here), I stumbled onto Smore.com.  This nifty site allows you to create online flyers for a variety of things.  Now, of course, I’m looking at its potential in the classroom.

Here is a quick Smore Flyer I made to introduce myself to my new students this year (I changed a few things for the blog):

Check it out here

Just a bit of my background and an introduction!

Just a bit of my background and an introduction!

So my kids know a little bit of my teaching style and how to get a hold of me.

So my kids know a little bit of my teaching style and how to get a hold of me.

There are even links to buy the books off amazon.

There are even links to buy the books off amazon.

To show off my eclectic music tastes :)

To show off my eclectic music tastes 🙂

Looks awesome, right?  It took me very little time to create this masterpiece, and I’m super pleased with the result

Advantages of Smore.com:

  • FREE
  • Unbelievably easy to use, even for the kids that are not techy
  • Easy buttons to embed multimedia
  • Slick, stylish look
  • Super organized and professional looking
  • Modern tools even on the free version
  • Able to embed videos, audio, and pictures easily
  • Easily embedded into classroom website (such as Schoology–>check out my review of Schoology here)
  • Very little guess work compared to sites like Glogster

Ideas for Classroom Use:

  • Create a wiki-esque lesson using Smore
  • Use it as an introduction to yourself or a subject
  • Make them for characters in a book instead of blogging
  • Student presentations on a variety of subjects
  • Use it as quick flyers for Independent Reading Projects/Book Reviews
  • Use them as monthly parent newsletters
  • Use them at the beginning of the week for “The Week at a Glance”
  • Use it as a mini syllabus “Class at a Glance”
  • Use it as a Unit Introduction
  • Use it in extracurriculars for flyers or promotion
  • Great way to introduce flipped classrooms
  • Use for fundraising promotion
  • Use for student introductions at the beginning of the year

The Bottom Line:  My kids will be using these a lot this year, and I am super excited to use these to present myself to my students at the beginning of the school year.  This is definitely a great addition to my teaching toolbox!

One thought on “I Need S’More Smore in My Life

  1. Pingback: You Have 5 Minutes? Use It Well… | The Wordy Teacher

Leave a Reply

