One School, One Book

I just finished R. J. Palacio’s Wonder, and I couldn’t be more please with this cute, moving novel about a young boy with a face abnormality.  Written at a middle school level, August’s struggle through fifth grade was not “babyish” as some may think, but actually an engaging tale of heroism and friendship.  My school is using this novel as their first “One School, One Book” initiative, and I couldn’t be more pleased.  As an adult I was engaged in August’s story, and could see all students 9-12 being engaged and empathetic for this young man’s struggle.  Told from many perspectives, this novel is an “easy-read”, but one that will stay with you.

I thought I would post some of the resources in case other people may want to use it.

Leave a Reply

